The virtual development economics seminar series is organized by Martina Björkman Nyqvist (Stockholm School of Economics and Misum), Giacomo De Giorgi (IEE/GSEM, University of Geneva), Gianmarco León-Ciliotta (U. Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona GSE & IPEG), and Karen Macours (PSE). It will take place on Tuesday at 5pm Barcelona/Geneva/Paris/Stockholm, 4pm BST, 11am EST, 8am PST. 

Sign-up for the seminar in the link at the bottom of this page.

SCHEDULE 

May 12th

Seema Jayachandran (Northwestern University) - "Reshaping Adolescents' Gender Attitudes: Evidence from a School-Based Experiment in India"

May 19th

Elisabeth Sadoulet (UC Berkeley) - "Catching a Wider Net:  Sharing Information Beyond Social networks", with Manzoor Dar, Alain de Janvry, Kyle Emerick, and Erin Kelley

May 26th

Michael Kremer (Harvard University) - "Is Development Innovation a Good Investment? Which Innovations Scale? Evidence on social investing from USAID’s Development Innovation Ventures." with Sasha Gallant, Olga Rostapshova, and Milan Thomas

June 2nd

Chris Udry (Northwestern University) - "Selection into Credit Markets: Evidence from Agriculture in Mali", with Lori Beaman, Dean karlan, and Bram Thuysbaert

June 9th

Pascaline Dupas (Stanford University)

Jun 16th

June 23rd

Costas Meghir (Yale University) -  "Migration and Informal Insurance" (with A. Mushfiq Mobarak, Corina D. Mommaerts and Melanie Morten)

June 30th

No Seminar

July 7th

Eliana La Ferrara (Bocconi University)

July 14th

Esther Duflo (MIT)

July 21st

No Seminar - NBER SI Development

July 28th

Tavneet Suri (MIT)

 

FORMAT

The seminars are held on Zoom and last 75 minutes:


  • 60 minutes of presentation


  • 15 minutes of Q&A


A moderator will collect questions on the chat and select a few of general interest to be asked to the speaker at reasonable intervals to keep the flow of the seminar.

All participants will be muted, and all interactions with the speaker are going through the chat with the moderator.

In the Q&A portion the moderator will open the microphone to those participants who in the chat with the moderator indicate they have a question.


Seminars may be recorded and we plan to have them available on the webpage a few days later. Please note that you may be recorded if you activate your video or speak during the seminar.


Abuse of the seminar will not be tolerated.


Some logistics may change over the VDEV series: stay tuned.

 

Please register to receive the zoom link to the seminar here.

Note that the target audience for the seminar is academics. But realizing the possible wider interests in some of the topics, we also live stream *some* seminars on our YouTube Channel

 

ORGANISING INSTITUTIONS AND SPONSORS

This event is sponsored by the Barcelona Graduate School of Economics (BGSE)

 

©2020 by Development Economics Virtual Seminar. Proudly created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now